“they are not interested in people that have been unemployed for six months or longer”

Reuters is running a series on the unemployed, starting with this profile of a 20-year company man who got laid off three years ago and has been unable to find work since.

[A] lot of the things that we were brought up with – a lot of the ethical things that we thought were going to make us successful and that we did to show our dedication to a company – now is used against us. And obviously all those three things – being with the company for more than five years, being over 50, and being unemployed for more than six months – I have all three things against me, and as time goes on, I’m getting more concerned as to what’s going to happen, and am I ever going to be able to secure another position.

We’re having a new Trader Joe’s coming in, and when I found out that you have benefits even if you’re a part-time employee, I thought, “Okay. Let me try this.” Of course, I did. I called, and they said, “Well, you’re at the bottom of 800, so we’ll call you as soon as we go through the other 799 above you.” I thought, “Wow.” I don’t know what those next steps are going to be, and like I say, for someone who has always been in control and educated and so forth, you never imagine that these times are happening. But they are.

(via Fred Clark, who calls the unemployment crisis “an incoming asteroid”)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

