“he’d be very happy if America, which has 5 percent of the world’s oil, but uses 25 percent, instead used 10 percent”

Via Fred Clark, a nice post from Doctor Science at Obsidian Wings, wondering at the turn a particular strain of neoconservativism has taken in recent years:

Kremer and D’Souza seem to have forgotten one of the first rules of storytelling, at least when I was growing up: The one who wants to rule the world is *The Bad Guy*. I know I’m not the only one scratching their head at D’Souza, making “anti-colonialism” sound like a *bad thing*. When I was young (you whippersnappers), the argument was:

LEFT: The USA is imperialist!

RIGHT: No it’s not!

At some point, the script seems to have changed to:

LEFT: The USA is imperialist!

RIGHT: What are you, some kinda wimp?! America F*ck Yeah!

— and I feel all wrong-footed, like I wandered into the wrong movie.

Doctor Science also invokes some particularly fine quotes from The Lord of the Rings to bolster her point:

When I read this, I’d already been thinking about the Faramir from the Lord of the Rings, as I often do. I was immediately reminded of Faramir’s conversation with Frodo, where he says he wants to see his country of Gondor and its capitol Minas Tirith “beautiful as a queen among other queens: not a mistress of many slaves, nay, not even a kind mistress of willing slaves….”

Denethor says that for him: “…there is no purpose higher in the world as it now stands than the good of Gondor.”

And Gandalf replies: “And for my part, I shall not wholly fail of my task, though Gondor should perish, if anything passes through this night that can still grow fair or bear fruit and flower again in days to come. For I am also a steward. Did you not know?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “he’d be very happy if America, which has 5 percent of the world’s oil, but uses 25 percent, instead used 10 percent”

  1. Grambear says:

    Gandalf’s is one of his best.
    I also like Faramir saying he would not take the Ring, even if he found it on the road.

  2. Eric says:

    I’d forgotten about that exchange between Denethor and Gandalf. It’s as fine an explication as I can think of of the difference between a selfish concern for one’s own and an altruistic concern for all, between a small vision and a global view, the short and the long.

Leave a Reply

